Theater, Performance und Tanz in Hamburg - Kampnagel

Transtronica Festival

 
  • Saeleen Bouvar
    © Frederik Busch
  • © Illustrationen: Teo Louk

Salon Queertronique celebrates its fifth anniversary with the TRANSTRONICA Festival, a 3-day music spectacle full of visionary trans artists. Salon Queertronique is a cultural and club project by DJ and musician Saeleen Bouvar and was created for the visibility of trans* musicians who together gave their version of queer music history. It has been a permanent part of the club series at Kampnagel since 2019. The TRANSTRONICA Festival is the first music festival with an all-trans* line-up. For three evenings, the audience has the opportunity to hear and see a handpicked selection of trans* musicians and celebrate visibility together, far from gender constructs. The salonnière Saeleen Bouvar will lead one of the most important music events of 2022.

Behind the idea of the music event was initially the lack of visibility of trans* femininities within club culture. No matter where, as is evident elsewhere in public misogynist and especially transmisogynist discourse, trans* femininity is situated in a realm of sexual debauchery and fetish. Even in the queer club scene, the topic of trans*visibility is not given a special status. It is accepted that no trans* DJs are known and thus the invisibility is explained, consolidated and morally legitimised. With the emergence of the salon, Saeleen Bouvar first became aware of the vastness and relevance of the topic, because it was precisely trans* people who were exiled from cultural memory. Already at the end of the 60s, trans*women of colour, through the Stonewall Riots, nullified the law banning same-sex dance partners and thus paved the way for the disco club. The whole disco movement emerged in the West, where trans*women fled from the military dictatorships of Latin America and Southern Europe. They were instrumental in shaping sexual openness within the aesthetic of the 70s, opening their own cabarets and travesty shows, from which many a pop producer was happy to draw inspiration for music videos for the wider public. It was a black trans* woman who established the house system of the ballroom scene. So trans* people have always been and still are indispensable to our club and music culture. So it's time to put the microphone back in their hands and give free rein to their voices, to hear their stories, their sounds, to experience their visions, their bodies in motion and to honour their existence that has been silenced for so long.

With TRANSTRONICA, salonnière Saeleen Bouvar celebrates her salon. In keeping with the old female salon culture, she has divided the three evenings into thematic sections. Each evening bears the name of a muse who symbolises an aspect of being trans*.

More infos about the festival on transtronica.com


Schedule


top of page

Kartentelefon +49 40 270 949-49
tickets@kampnagel.de

Theater, Performance und Tanz in Hamburg - Kampnagel

Transtronica Festival

 
  • Saeleen Bouvar
    © Frederik Busch
  • © Illustrationen: Teo Louk

Der Salon Queertronique feiert sein fünfjähriges Bestehen mit dem TRANSTRONICA Festival, einem 3-tägigen Musikspektakel voller visionärer Trans*Künstler*innen. Der Salon ist ein Kultur- und Clubprojekt der DJ und Musikerin Saeleen Bouvar und entstand zur Visibility von Trans*Musiker*innen, die gemeinsam ihre Version queerer Musikgeschichte gaben. Er ist seit 2019 ein fester Bestandteil der Clubreihen auf Kampnagel. Das TRANSTRONICA Festival ist das erste Musikfestival mit einem reinen Trans*LineUp. Drei Abende lang hat das Publikum die Möglichkeit, eine handerlesene Auswahl von Trans*Musiker*innen zu hören, zu sehen und gemeinsam Sichtbarkeit fernab der Geschlechterkonstrukte zu feiern. Die Salonnière Saeleen Bouvar führt durch eines der wohl wichtigsten Musikevents des Jahres 2022.

Hinter der Idee des Musikevents stand zunächst die mangelnde Sichtbarkeit von Trans*Weiblichkeiten innerhalb der Clubkultur im Vordergrund. Egal wo wird, wie auch sonst im öffentlich-misogynen und besonders transmisogynen Diskurs ersichtlich, Trans*Weiblichkeit in ein Reich der sexuellen Ausschweifung und des Fetisches situiert. Auch in der queeren Clublandschaft bekommt das Thema Trans*Visibility keinen besonderen Stellenwert. Es wird regelrecht akzeptiert, dass keine Trans*DJs gekannt werden und dadurch die Unsichtbarmachung erklärt, gefestigt und moralisch legitimiert. Mit der Entstehung des Salons wurde Saeleen Bouvar die Weite und Relevanz des Themas erst bewusst, denn gerade Trans*Personen wurden aus dem kulturellen Gedächtnis exiliert. Bereits Ende der 60er Jahre machten Trans*women of colour durch die Stonewall Riots das Gesetz zum Verbot gleichgeschlechtlicher Tanzpartner zunichte und ebneten so den Weg für den Disco Club. Die gesamte Disco-Bewegung entstand im Westen, in den Trans*Frauen aus den Militärdiktaturen Lateinamerikas und Südeuropas flüchteten. Sie prägten maßgeblich die sexuelle Offenheit innerhalb der Ästhetik der 70er Jahre, öffneten eigene Cabarets und Travesti-Shows, von denen sich gern so mancher Pop-Produzent Inspiration für Musikvideos für das breitere Publikum holte. Es war eine schwarze Trans*Frau, die das House-System der Ballroom-Szene etablierte. Trans*Personen waren und sind also schon immer für unsere Club- und Musikkultur unablässlich. Daher ist es an der Zeit, ihnen wieder das Mikrofon in die Hand zu geben und ihren Stimmen freien Lauf zu lassen, ihre Geschichten, ihre Klänge zu hören, ihre Visionen, ihre Körper in Bewegung zu erleben und ihre Existenz zu ehren, die für so lange Zeit verschwiegen wurde.

Mit TRANSTRONICA feiert die Salonnière Saeleen Bouvar ihren Salon. Ganz nach alter weiblicher Salonkultur hat sie dafür die drei Abende in thematische Bereiche eingeteilt. Jeder Abend trägt den Namen einer Muse, die einen Aspekt des Trans*Seins symbolisiert.

Mehr Infos zum Festival gibt es auf transtronica.com


Das Programm


nach Oben

Kartentelefon +49 40 270 949-49
tickets@kampnagel.de